Cartier Award

Cartier Award

Courtesy of the Cartier Awards

Cartier Awards to be Presented Nov. 16

The Cartier Awards recognize excellence in racing.

The Cartier Racing Awards, which honor Europe’s best race horses of 2010, will be presented Tuesday, Nov. 16, at London’s Dorchester Hall. Split into eight categories for the year’s top horses, the awards are determined by points earned in pattern races combined, at the end of the season, with the opinions of a panel of leading racing journalists, as well as votes from readers of the Racing Post and The Daily Telegraph.

The categories are Horse of the Year, 2-year-old colt, 2-year-old filly, 3-year-old colt, 3-year-old filly, stayer, sprinter, and older horse.

The nominations for this year’s awards--five in each category--will be announced Thursday, Nov. 11.