Jockey Ryan Moore takes the World Super Jockeys Series title from Japan.

Jockey Ryan Moore takes the World Super Jockeys Series title from Japan.

Kate Hunter

Ryan Moore Captures Tokyo Super Jockey Title

British rider nips Craig Williams and Johnny Murtagh; Mike Smith finishes far back.

Jockey Ryan Moore from Great Britain captured his first "World Super Jockeys Series" title from Japan this year this year when he edged Australia's Craig Williams and Irish rider Johnny Murtagh at Tokyo Racecourse Nov. 27.

Mike Smith, the lone American jockey among the 15 contestants, finished in a tie for 13th.

In his third try in the 24-year-old event, Moore led with a total of 33 points after the three-race series. The 2007 champion Williams was close behind in second with 32 points, followed by Murtagh, who scored 30 points. Yusuke Fujioka finished one point behind in fourth, which was the highest among the seven Japanese contenders.

Moore made a good start by winning the first leg of the series and acquiring 20 points. He went on to add another 2 points and 11 points by finishing 11th and fourth respectively, in the following two races to claim the series title. Williams, although without a win, was consistent in all three races (4th, 4th and 5th) to come up just shy. Murtagh was among the lower half of the ranking after the second race with only 10 points, coming in seventh in both races, but won the last leg of the series and added 20 points to capture third place.

The second race went to Yuichi Fukunaga of Japan, who finished fifth overall.

“I just concentrated on the race, and winning the series is like a bonus," Moore said. "I was lucky with the draw and was fortunate to be able to win the series among all the great jockeys. I would like to thank the JRA for inviting me here, and would like to come back again in the future.”

Smith, whose best finish was ninth in the final leg, tallied just points.

The trophy was presented by Cash Asmussen, who won both the first World Super Jockeys Series held in 1987 and the first Japan Cup in 1981 aboard Mairzy Doates.