New Mexico Honors Its Champions

The Stallion of the Year award went to Desert God.

The New Mexico Horse Breeders Association honored its 2010 state-bred champions at its annual awards banquet held at the Marriott Hotel in Albuquerque Jan. 27.

The 2-year-old male champion went to Jannas Pride, by Desert God out of Janna. He earned $187,350, winning four races out of six starts, including the Eddy County Stakes at Zia Park and the Red Hedeman Mile at Sunland Park. Jannas Pride is owned by Charles Hunter of Blanco, Texas, and Dale Taylor of Wolfforth, Texas, and was bred by Charles Hunter.

The 2-year-old filly champion is Squall Wilbud, by Squall out of Fancywilfly. She earned $214,808, and won the Copper Top Futurity at Sunland Park and the New Mexico Classic Cup Juvenile at Zia Park. She is owned and bred by William Stradley and Tom Williams, both of Hobbs, N.M.  Squall Wilbud won or placed in all 10 starts in 2010.

The 3-year-old champion male award went to Train Rider Blues, by Desert God out of Cara Marisa. He earned $231,200 and won the Dine Stakes at SunRay Park, the Road Runner Handicap at Ruidoso Downs, and the New Mexico Classic Cup Championship at Zia Park.  Train Rider Blues had four wins and three seconds out of 10 starts. He is owned by Freda McSwane of Ruidoso, N.M. and Joe Walters of Wolfforth, Texas.

Glory Be Mine won the 3-year-old filly award based on earnings. She earned $202,800. She won three races out of five starts, including the La Senora at Sunland Park and the New Mexico Classic Cup Championship for Fillies at Zia Park. She is by Dome, and her dam is Princess Zahra. Glory Be Mine is owned by Bobby J. McQueen of Lubbock, Texas, and Dale F. Taylor of Wolfforth, and was bred by Ginger Washburn of Bosque, N.M.

Lesters Secret, based on earnings of $154,239 in 2010, captured older male honors. He had two wins, three seconds, and two thirds. He won the New Mexico State University Handicap at Sunland Park. Lesters Secret was sired by Lesters Boy and is out of Beauty Secret. He is owned by Simply The Best Thoroughbreds of Temecula, Calif., and E. Henry Dominguez of El Paso, Texas, who is also the breeder.

The older champion female was Cali Baby, by Thatsusintheolbean out of Aquarellist. Cali Baby is owned by Chris Hourigan of Anthony, N.M. and UKUSA Stables of El Paso, and was bred by Chris and Tina Hourigan. Her total earnings for 2010 were $280,850. Cali Baby had six wins in eight starts, including wins in the Carlos Salazar Stakes and the E. T. Springer at the Downs At Albuquerque, the Peppers Pride New Mexico Classic Cup Championship at Zia Park, and the New Mexico State Racing Commission Handicap at Sunland Park.

The Stallion of the Year award went to Desert God. His progeny earned $1,634,237 in 2010. H. Joe Allen of Abilene, Texas, owns Desert God, and he stands him at A & A Ranch in Anthony.

Broodmare of the Year went to the Hourigans’ Aquarellist. The Hourigans were named New Mexico’s outstanding breeders.

Freshman Sire of the Year went to King Bull. He is the sire of Shamrock Girl, who earned $136,288 in 2010. Gary  Balzano owns and stands King Bull in Tucumcari, N.M.

V.J. Calloway was honored with a longtime breeder award for the influence he has had on the New Mexico-bred program.
The New Mexico Horse Breeders’ Incentive Award Fund totaled $4,235,747 in 2010. A total of 515 breeders, 1,186 owners, and 208 stallion owners shared in the distribution. The top five breeders in New Mexico determined by total monies awarded from this fund were Mike C. Abraham, H. Joe Allen, Rita J. Danley, Leslie A., Pierre J. Amestoy, Jr., and R.D. Hubbard, et al.