RCI's Len Foote Award to Richard Krueger

Richard “Dick” Krueger was honored with the 2011 Len Foote Award by the Association of Racing Commissioners International for his more than 20 years of service to the racing industry in Minnesota.

Presenting the award during the 77th Annual Conference on Racing and Wagering Integrity was the 2010 recipient Charla Ann King, the since-retired executive director of the Texas State Racing Commission.

The award is named in honor of the late Len Foote, longtime executive director of the California Horse Racing Board, and is presented annually to a racing commission executive director for his or her outstanding contributions to the racing industry.

Certificates of Merit were presented by RCI president Ed Martin to following, who “made great contributions to the regulation of racing”:

--Rick Goodell, regulatory attorney for the New York State Racing and Wagering Board, for his drafting of model legislation and promoting Interstate Racing Compact legislation in New York and elsewhere.

--Lisa Underwood, executive director of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, for her work in promoting Interstate Racing Compact legislation in Kentucky.

--Dan Hartman, executive director of the Colorado Racing Commission, for his work in promoting Interstate Racing Compact legislation in Colorado.

--Larry Eliason, executive secretary of the South Dakota Commission on Gaming, for his continued work to support the RCI Model Rules Process.

--Carol Olewin, pari-mutuel compliance auditor for the Texas State Racing Commission, for her work on improved Tote Standards.

Most Popular Stories