2009 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf winner Tapitsfly takes on 10 in the Churchill Distaff Turf Mile.<br><a target="blank" href="http://www.bloodhorse.com/horse-racing/photo-store?ref=http%3A%2F%2Fpictopia.com%2Fperl%2Fgal%3Fprovider_id%3D368%26ptp_photo_id%3D8598916%26ref%3Dstory">Order This Photo</a>

2009 Breeders' Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf winner Tapitsfly takes on 10 in the Churchill Distaff Turf Mile.
Order This Photo

Mathea Kelley

Tapitsfly Favored in Distaff Turf Mile

Breeders' Cup winner returns to Louisville and tops a field of 11.

Frank L. Jones’ homebred Tapitsfly, winner of the 2009 Breeders’ Cup Juvenile Fillies Turf at Santa Anita, drew favoritism in the $200,000-added Churchill Distaff Turf Mile Presented by American Commercial Lines (gr. IIT).

The 4-year-old daughter of Tapit  was tabbed as the 7-2 choice in the May 7 race, which drew 11 fillies and mares. Post time for the Churchill Distaff Turf Mile, which goes as the eighth race on the Kentucky Derby undercard, is 2:59 p.m. EDT.
A winner in her most recent allowance start at Gulfstream Park, Tapitsfly will break from post 1 under Julien Leparoux. The filly will be making her fourth start this year for trainer Dale Romans. She was winless in three starts as a juvenile at Churchill, but they were all on the main track.
Sharing top weight of 121 pounds are Flaxman Holdings’ Aruna and Team Block’s Never Retreat.
Winner of the Mrs. Revere (gr. IIT) at Churchill Downs last fall, Aruna will be making her 2011 debut for trainer Graham Motion. Regular rider Ramon Dominguez has the call on Aruna, who will break from post 6.
Never Retreat enters Saturday’s race on a two-race win streak with scores in the Jenny Wiley (gr. IIT) at Keeneland last month and the Honey Fox (gr. IIIT) in March at Gulfstream Park. Shaun Bridgmohan has the mount for Chris Block and they will break from post 11.

$200,000 Churchill Distaff Turf Mile (gr. IIT, Race 8, 2:59 p.m.), Fillies and Mares, 1 Mile (Turf)
PP. Horse, Jockey, Weight, Trainer, Odds
1. Tapitsfly (KY), J R Leparoux, 117, D L Romans, 7/2
2. Upperline (KY), R Napravnik, 117, M Stidham, 9/2
3. Zapparition (FL), J Castellano, 117, D L Romans, 20/1
4. Ice Mist (MD), A Garcia 117 B S Flint 30/1
5. Vivo Per Lei (KY), C H Borel, 117, I R Wilkes, 30/1
6. Aruna (KY), R A Dominguez, 121, H G Motion, 4/1
7. Fantasia (GB), J Rosario 117, J E Sheppard, 10/1
8. Aviate (GB), K J Desormeaux, 117, W I Mott, 5/1
9. Wild Mia (FL), G K Gomez, 117, T F Proctor, 10/1
10. Kiss Mine (KY), R Maragh, 117, D R Vance, 20/1
11. Never Retreat (KY), S Bridgmohan, 121, C M Block, 9/2