Mike Maker

Mike Maker

Anne M. Eberhardt

KTM Honors Maker, Lanerie, Hays Family

For trainer, jockey, and owner with highest win totals in Kentucky in 2010.

Two-time defending winner Mike Maker is joined by first-timers Corey Lanerie and the Louisville-based family of Billy, Donna and Justin Hays as recipients of Kentucky Thoroughbred Media Awards that honor the trainer, jockey and owner who compiled the highest victory totals at Kentucky racetracks during the 2010 calendar year.

Statistical data for the awards, being presented for the 21st consecutive year, was compiled by Incompass, The Jockey Club’s technology-solutions company.

The awards will be presented to the 2010 winners in a winner’s circle ceremony following the first race on the Stephen Foster Day Presented by Abu Dhabi program at Churchill Downs on Saturday, June 18.  The scheduled post time for the first of Saturday’s 12 races is 12:45 p.m. (EDT).
Hays, a prominent Louisville auto-dealer, and his family won 45 races last year to end a 10-year streak of  KTM Owner of the Year awards earned by Ken and Sarah Ramsey of Nicholasville.  The Hayses edged the Ramseys by two victories for the honor.

 “I had no idea we were even close,” said Hays, who in 2005 beat out the perennial champion Ramseys for the “leading owner” crown in the Churchill Downs Spring Meet.

The Hayses earned 2010 owner titles at Turfway Park’s winter-spring and fall meets, as well as multiple crowns in Ohio.  The 259 victories by Hays-owned horses in 2010 ranked second nationally, trailing only Midwest Thoroughbreds Inc., which led the country at 310.

Lanerie captured his first KTM Jockey of the Year honor by earning 111 victories at Kentucky tracks, 17 more than runner-up Robby Albarado. Other 2010 highlights for Lanerie included riding title at Ellis Park and a runner-up finish to Calvin Borel in the Churchill Downs spring meet. His biggest victory was Keeneland’s grade II, $250,000 Lexus Raven Run aboard the Todd Pletcher-trained Hilda’s Passion.

Maker, whose 2010 highlight was a win by Stately Victor in the Toyota Blue Grass (gr. I) at Keeneland, won his third straight KTM Trainer of the Year award with 81 victories, easily outdistancing the 48 wins by Dale Romans. He captured the Ellis Park and Turfway Park Holiday Meet training titles, and tied for the Kentucky Downs crown.