Jones, Manfuso, Santulli Elected to BC Board

Breeders' Cup filled three seats on its board of directors in a July 13 election.

In Breeders’ Cup elections, the results of which were announced July 13, Bret Jones was elected to the 13-member board of directors, while Robert Manfuso and Richard Santulli were re-elected to the board. Each will serve a four-year term.

Breeders’ Cup reported 100% participation in the election by its 48-person board of members. Garrett O’Rourke, Bill Oppenheim, and Barry Weisbord also ran for the three open seats on the smaller board.

The complete board of directors is as follows: Helen Alexander, Middlebrook Farm; Antony Beck, Gainesway Farm; Jerry Crawford, Donegal Racing/Derby Dreams Partnership; William S. Farish Jr., Lane’s End Farm; Roy Jackson, Lael Stables; Jones, Airdie Stud; chairman Tom Ludt , Vinery; Manfuso, Chanceland Farm; Clem Murphy, Coolmore Stud; Satish Sanan, Padua Stables; Santulli, Jayeff “B” Stables; Oliver Tait, Darley; and David Willmot, Kinghaven Farms.

Breeders’ Cup officials said a post-election blind draw was held to determine expiring terms on the board of members over the next two election cycles. The action resulted from a change in bylaws that extended the terms of members from three to four years.

The next two elections of members will be staggered, with 19 elected in 2012 and 20 elected in 2014.

Terms expiring in 2012 are those of Jack Brothers, Murphy, Dan Pride, John Sikura, Duncan Taylor, and Rob Whiteley. Terms expiring in 2014 are those of John Amerman, Bill Casner, Ludt, Reiley McDonald, Ogden M. Phipps, Santulli, and Tait.

Several committees gave reports at the July 13 meeting, but Breeders' Cup spokesman Jim Gluckson said the board didn't select a host site for 2012. The candidates are Belmont Park, Churchill Downs, and Santa Anita Park.

Breeders' Cup officials in mid-June said they expected to name a 2012 host site in a week or two.

Also during the meeting Ludt presented former chairman Farish with a trophy for distinguished service and introduced new Breeders’ Cup president Craig Fravel, who begins his job July 18.