Cassidy, Ellis Elected to CTT Board

Following July 15 meeting, John Sadler named by board to continue as president.

Trainers Jim Cassidy and Ron Ellis have been elected and Glory Haley re-elected to the board of California Thoroughbred Trainers. Voting was conducted in June to fill three positions on the nine-member CTT board.

Following a July 15 meeting, the CTT board named John Sadler to continue as president and Haley as Northern California vice president. Cassidy, a past president of CTT, was named Southern California vice president. Darrell Vienna had previously served as Southern California vice president, and he did not seek re-election.

According to CTT bylaws, the nine members must include a minimum of three from the north and three from the south. In the most recent election, 14 people ran from Southern California, including incumbent Kathy Walsh, and six ran from Northern California.

Cassidy and Ellis emphasized working together in their statements that appeared in the pamphlet that accompanied the ballot sent to CTT members.

“My promise to you is that I personally will do everything in my power to bring us together for the good of California racing,” said Cassidy.

Ellis, who also sits on the board of the Thoroughbred Owners of California, urged CTT to work with TOC on industry issues.

“I believe the CTT would better serve the trainers’ real needs if, as an organization, it works with the TOC directors that include Jack Owens, Mike Pegram, and Pete Parrella to get long-term solutions to major time-sensitive issues,” said Ellis in the election material.

The six CTT board members not up for election in 2011 were Sadler, Bob Baffert, Jeff Bonde, Terry Knight, Doug O’Neill, and John Shirreffs.