KY Scholarship Fund to Assist 32 Students

The scholarship program helps the children of farm workers get a college education.

Thirty–two students were awarded scholarships to help with college tuition through the Horse Farm Workers’ Educational Assistance Fund.

The students, all children of parents working full–time on Central Kentucky Thoroughbred farms, were selected based on need, merit, essays, and personal interviews. Since the fund’s inception in 1996, 448 scholarships worth $886,845 have been awarded.

“Year after year, hard-working, extraordinary young people from our farm families continue to impress the board with their ability, accomplishments, and enthusiasm,” said Rob Whiteley, co–founder and president of the fund. “In many instances our scholars are the first in their families to pursue a post–secondary education, and in some cases, they could not attend without our financial assistance.”

Because many of the students could not attend college without working one or more jobs, Whiteley said, the goal of the fund is provide the students with enough money so they can make school work a priority.

Over the years the fund has been supported through individual donations and by the Carl Pollard Foundation, the Crafty Prospector syndicate, the Kentucky Farm Managers’ Club, Kentucky Owners and Breeders and Kentucky Thoroughbred Association, Fasig–Tipton, Keeneland, Race for Education, and Thoroughbred Charities of America, and contributions from William Marquard of Eaglestone Farm and William T. Young of Overbrook. Two of the current scholars are Pollard Scholars at the University of Kentucky.

The 2011-12 recipients and the schools they are attending are as follows:

Kaitlyn Alexander – Maysville Community & Tech.; Courtney Baxter – Univ. of Kentucky; Jannica Brady – Univ. of the Cumberlands; Kesley Brumley – Univ. of the Cumberlands; Lindsay Brumley – Thomas More College; Joe Buchignani – Bellarmine U.; Mary Ruth Callaway – Bellarmine U.; Sofia Calleja – Bluegrass Community and Technical College (BCTC); Frank Carter – Univ. of Kentucky; Nathan Carter – Eastern Kentucky U.; Cheli Castillo – BCTC; Cody Courtney – BCTC; Garrett Davis– Asbury U.; Josh Davis – Morehead State U.; Liz Fiero – Murray State U.; Nicholas Greathouse – Transylvania U.; Mary Koch – Univ. of Kentucky; Lauren Logan – Berry College; Megan Lynn – BCTC; Sarah Marks – Univ. of Kentucky; Steven Powell – Western KY U.; Justin Purvis – Univ. of Kentucky; Alex Rankin – N. Kentucky U.; Trent Rankin – Univ. of Louisville; Austin Robinette – BCTC; Elaine Royse – Georgetown College; Jose Salazar – Univ. of Kentucky; Viridiana Salazar – Univ. of Kentucky; Miller Thornbury – Sewanee, Univ. of the South; Sam Wells – Western Kentucky U.; Parker Wornall – Western Kentucky U.; and Lindsay Zahn – Eastern Kentucky U.

The scholarship program is run on a volunteer basis, and more than 92% of funds donated go to the recipients. Tax deductible contributions may be made to Horse Farm Workers’ Educational Assistance Fund, 2938 Four Pines Drive, Lexington, KY 40502–2969.