Jack Goodman Scholarship Winners Announced

Both winners are students at University of Arizona’s Race Track Industry Program.

Matthew Benton and Heather Shatz, animal science majors in the University of Arizona’s Race Track Industry Program, have been awarded The Jockey Club Jack Goodman Scholarships for the 2011-2012 academic year, it was announced Sept. 1 by Matt Iuliano, executive vice president and executive director of The Jockey Club, and Doug Reed, director of the RTIP.

Benton is a junior from Saratoga Springs, N.Y., and Shatz is a senior from Benson, Ariz. This is the second Goodman Scholarship for Shatz, whose scholarship from last year was renewed for 2011-2012.
“Matthew and Heather have a record of achievement within and outside the classroom and are very deserving of this scholarship,” said Iuliano. “The Jockey Club is proud to support their industry ambitions in the name of Jack Goodman and his numerous contributions to the industry and to the RTIP over the years.”
The Jockey Club Jack Goodman Scholarship was created in 2007 and is awarded annually to RTIP students based on their academic achievement, proposed career path in the Thoroughbred racing industry and previous industry involvement. Goodman is a longtime member of The Jockey Club and is one of the three founders of the RTIP.
“This scholarship has been a wonderful way to pay tribute to Mr. Goodman and all that he has done through the years,” said Reed. “We appreciate The Jockey Club’s ongoing commitment to our mission.”