Anne M. Eberhardt

The Envelope Please: HOY Announcement Tonight

Winners will be posted at as they are announced.

The suspense over which horse will be crowned 2011 Horse of the Year will come to an end tonight, Jan. 16, when the 41st annual Eclipse Awards are handed out at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills, Calif.

Beginning at 8 p.m. (EST; 5 p.m. Pacific), the winner in each category will be posted at as they are announced, along with a story about that Eclipse honoree. The dinner will also be shown live on the HRTV network, with the Horse of the Year announcement due to be made at approximately 10:30 p.m.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

2-Year-Old Male: Creative Cause , Hansen, Union Rags 
2-Year-Old Filly: Grace Hall, My Miss Aurelia, Stephanie's Kitten
3-Year-Old Male: Animal Kingdom , Caleb's Posse , Shackleford 
3-Year-Old Filly: It's Tricky, Plum Pretty, Royal Delta 
Older Male: Acclamation, Game On Dude, Tizway                     
Older Female: Awesome Maria, Blind Luck, Havre de Grace
Male Sprinter: Amazombie, Caleb's Posse , Regally Ready
Female Sprinter: Hilda's Passion, Musical Romance, Sassy Image                    
Male Turf Horse: Acclamation, Cape Blanco, St Nicholas Abbey        
Female Turf Horse: Dubawi Heights, Perfect Shirl, Stacelita
Steeplechase Horse: Black Jack Blues, Decoy Daddy, Tax Ruling
Owner: Midwest Thoroughbreds, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, Team Valor        
Breeder: Adena Springs, Brereton C. Jones, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey         
Trainer: Bob Baffert, Bill Mott, Todd Pletcher      
Jockey: Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez
Apprentice Jockey: Ryan Curatolo, Kyle Frey, Rosario Montanez