Roehl and Pittman Join Aftercare Subcommittee

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association announced Feb. 16 that Jan Roehl, founder of the Thoroughbred Horse Show Association, and Steuart Pittman, president of the Retired Racehorse Training Project and an accomplished equestrian trainer, have joined the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance’s subcommittee focusing on aftercare of retired Thoroughbreds.

The goal of the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance Subcommittee on Aftercare is to work toward a national solution to issues surrounding retired Thoroughbred racehorses, including enhancement of aftercare funding and improvement of compliance and best-practice standards for racetracks and other industry participants.

“We are delighted that Jan and Steuart have joined our Aftercare Subcommittee,” said Mike Ziegler, executive director of the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance, in a release. “They each provide important perspectives on aftercare—particularly with respect to Equestrian sports, which is one of many avenues of opportunity for off-the-track Thoroughbreds.”

Members of the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance Subcommittee on Aftercare include:
• Madeline Auerbach, CARMA
• Erin Crady, Thoroughbred Charities of America
• Anna Ford, New Vocations
• Jane Gilbert, ReRun
• Liz Harris, Churchill Downs, Inc.
• Gretchen Jackson, Lael Stables
• Nancy Koch, CANTER
• Lucinda Mandella, CARMA
• Karl Nobert, Upperville Racing LLC
• Diana Pikulski, Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation
• Steuart Pittman, Retired Racehorse Training Project
• Jan Roehl, Thoroughbred Horse Show Association
• Mike Ziegler, NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance

Most Popular Stories