Sabini of New York New RCI Chairman

The regulators' organization announced its board of directors for 2012-13.

New York State Racing and Wagering Board chairman John Sabini is the new chairman of the Association of Racing Commissioners International, which held its annual meeting in late April in Oklahoma City.

Sabini, who was elected last year, was sworn in during the association’s annual meeting. He replaces Willie Koester of the Ohio State Racing Commission. RCI chairmen serve one-year terms.

Duncan Patterson of the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission was elected chairman-elect and secretary, while Doug King of the Horse Racing Branch of the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority was elected treasurer.

RCI also announced those elected to its board of directors for 2012-13: Mark Lamberth, who sits on the Arkansas State Racing Commission; Tom Sage, executive director of the Nebraska State Racing Commission; Eddie Menton, chairman of the Mobile County Racing Commission; King from Saskatchewan; Constantin “Tino” Rieger, executive director of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission; Larry Eliason, executive secretary of the South Dakota Commission on Gaming; Richard Krueger, executive director of the Minnesota Racing Commission; Mark Laino, executive director of the Illinois Racing Board; John Ward Jr., executive director of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission; and Hugh Gallagher, executive director of the Delaware Harness Racing Commission.

They will join representatives assigned by the five largest pari-mutuel handle jurisdictions in North America: California, Florida, New Jersey, New York, and Ontario. Sabini has the option to appoint two more directors during his term.