Eight Incumbents Re-Elected to BC Board

In all 16 people won seats on the board of members, which will meet July 11.

Eight of 16 people elected to the Breeders’ Cup board of members are incumbents, the organization said June 12.

Voting by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators ended June 8. The election results are expected to be ratified by the current board of members at the July 11 annual meeting.

Re-elected to four-year terms are Jack Brothers, Doug Cauthen, Clem Murphy, Maria Niarchos-Gouaze, Bill Oppenheim, Don Robinson, Charlotte Weber, and Barry Weisbord. Elected to four-year terms were John Adger, Barbara Banke, George Bolton, Dr. Andreas Jacobs, W. Bruce Lunsford, Dr. J. David Richardson, W. Elliott Walden, and David Wildenstein.

Murphy was the highest vote-getter.

Twenty-two people ran for the board. Not elected were Craig Bandoroff, Lincoln Collins, Lucy Young Hamilton, George Isaacs, Michael McMahon, and Mike Rogers.

Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are 39 elected Breeders’ Cup members.

Members meet each July for election of the 13-person Breeders’ Cup board of directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.