James Cassidy

James Cassidy

Benoit Photo

Jim Cassidy Succeeds Sadler as CTT President

California trainers elect Sadler, Rene Amescua, and Ben Cecil as directors.

California Thoroughbred Trainers seated three directors and unanimously elected James Cassidy as its new president at its annual transition meeting July 6 held at Betfair Hollywood Park.

Cassidy, who had served as Southern California vice president in 2011-12, succeeds John Sadler, who declined a nomination to stand for re-election after serving two years.

Licensed trainers throughout California voted during June to elect three directors from nine candidates statewide to serve three-year terms commencing this month. Sadler topped the voting, followed by Rene Amescua and Ben Cecil.

Amescua replaced Terry Knight, who did not stand for re-election, as Northern California director.

Other candidates for director were Tim Bellasis, Eoin Harty, Doug O’Neill, Debbie Winick, Gerry Piccioni, and D. Wayne Baker.

Gloria Haley was re-elected Northern California vice president, and Ron Ellis was elected to succeed Cassidy as Southern California vice president.

The entire CTT board includes Bob Baffert, Jeff Bonde, and Jorge Gutierrez (whose terms expire June 2013); Cassidy, Ellis, and Haley (terms expire 2014); and Amescua, Cecil, and Sadler (terms expire 2015).