Camp Victory won the Triple Bend Handicap on June 30.

Camp Victory won the Triple Bend Handicap on June 30.

Benoit Photo

Camp Victory, Coil to Battle in Pat O'Brien

The seven-furlong, grade II stakes is part of the Pacific Classic card Aug. 26.

Grade I winner Camp Victory, second in last year's Pat O'Brien Stakes (gr. II), will try again versus five others when the seven-furlong event is renewed Aug. 26 at Del Mar.

The Pat O'Brien, to be contested over Polytrack, is part of the undercard on Pacific Classic (gr. I) Day at the California racetrack. It is slated as the fifth race with an approximate post of 3:05 p.m. PDT.

Camp Victory, a 5-year-old Virginia-bred gelding by Forest Camp owned by Gordon Jacobsen, Roger Featherston, and Tom and Lynne Miller, finally broke through with a victory June 30 in the Triple Bend Handicap (gr. I) at Betfair Hollywood Park. It was his first win since taking the Los Angeles Handicap (gr. III) via disqualification in May 2011 and ended a six-race losing streak.

Trained by Mike Mitchell, Camp Victory in the Triple Bend defeated The Factor , who won last year's Pat O'Brien for trainer Bob Baffert.

The victory was an emotional one for the owners, coming a day after Mitchell had surgery for removal of a brain tumor.

Joe Talamo will ride the 123-pound highweight from post five in the Polytrack sprint.

Camp Victory will have to deal with another Baffert horse in the Pat O'Brien: Pegram, Watson, and Weitman's Coil, who comfortably won a seven-furlong allowance test at Del Mar July 26 in his 4-year-old debut. Coil, winner of last year's Haskell Invitational (gr. I), had been on the sidelines since October 2011.

Rafael Bejarano is named to ride the Point Given colt at 121 pounds from post 6. Baffert also sends Capital Account , carrying 119 under David Flores, from post three.

$250,000 Pat O'Brien Stakes (gr. II, Race 5, 3:05 p.m.), 3 & Up, 7 Furlongs (All Weather)
PP. Horse, Jockey, Weight, Trainer
1. Bruce's Dream (CA), J. Rosario, 119, M Puype
2. Mobilized (CA), G. K. Gomez, 119, G Mandella
3. Capital Account (KY), D. R. Flores, 119, B Baffert
4. Don Tito (FL), P. Lopez, 119, J W Sadler
5. Camp Victory (VA), J. Talamo, 123, M R Mitchell
6. Coil (FL), R. Bejarano, 121, B Baffert