Mike Repole

Mike Repole

Anne M. Eberhardt

Spa Titles for Dominguez, Pletcher, Repole

Record-breaking season for Dominguez and repeat Saratoga titles for trainer, owner.

Owner Mike Repole and trainer Todd Pletcher won their third consecutive Saratoga Race Course titles, and Ramon Dominguez set a meet record for wins by a jockey en route to his second career Spa riding crown.

Repole won 13 races, seven with Pletcher, five with Bruce Levine, and one with Michael Miceli. Second-place owner Michael Dubb took 12 races, while Klaravich Stables and William H. Lawrence finished third with 10.

Pletcher, winner of 36 races, added his ninth career H. Allen Jerkens training title. He was previously Saratoga’s leading trainer in 1998, 2002-06, and 2010-11. Meet highlights for Pletcher included victories with Love and Pride in the Personal Ensign Invitational Handicap (gr. I), Turbulent Descent in the Ballerina (gr. I), Shanghai Bobby  in the Three Chimneys Hopeful (gr. II), Dominus  in the Bernard Baruch (gr. IIT), and Kauai Katie in the Adirondack (gr. II). Pletcher won 23 juvenile races, 21 of them in maiden events.

Chad Brown was the second-leading trainer with 29 wins, 17 ahead of third-place trainer Steve Asmussen.

During the 40-day meet, Ramon Dominguez won 68 races to break by four the mark set by John Velazquez in 2004 over 36 days. Dominguez, who won the 2009 Saratoga title, rode Alpha  to victory in the grade I Travers (via dead heat) and Jim Dandy (gr. II). He twice rode six winners on a single day, first on July 22 and again on Sept. 2.

Javier Castellano won 51 races, finishing second for the third straight year. Jose Lezcano was third with 35 wins.