Evan Hammonds

Evan Hammonds

Anne M. Eberhardt

Racing Participants and Writers Honored

Evan Hammonds of The Blood-Horse was among the winners honored Oct. 31.

Racing participants and Turf writers were honored by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters during the organization's awards banquet Oct. 31 at Santa Anita Park.

Jockey Mario Guitierrez and jockey agent Ivan Puhich were presented with the Mr. Fitz Award, which typifies the spirit of racing. The pair teamed to win this year's Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands and Preakness Stakes (both gr. I) with I'll Have Another .

Former Churchill Downs track superintendent Raymond "Butch" Lehr received the Joe Palmer Award for meritorious service to racing, while Bill Mooney earned the Walter Haight Award for career excellence in turf writing.

Breeders' Cup also bestowed its two writing awards during the ceremony.

Evan Hammonds, executive editor of The Blood-Horse, was honored for a Breeders' Cup 2011 race story that appeared in the magazine, while Dick Jerardi of the Philadelphia Daily News was recognized for a newspaper article on last year's Breeders' Cup.