Horsemen's Groups Announce Election Results

There are changes at the top for the Charles Town and Pennsylvania HBPA groups.

National Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association affiliates in Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia have announced results of elections for their boards of directors.

Trainer Rick Hiles was elected to a third consecutive term as president of the Kentucky HBPA. Owner representatives on the board are Frank Jones Jr. (first vice president), Tom Conway, Dr. Randy Scheen, Mike Bruder, and Pete Salmen Jr. Trainer representatives are Dale Romans (second vice president), Bill Connelly, Ken McPeek, William "Buff" Bradley, and Robert Sturgeon.

Marty Maline remains executive director. Jones and Conway are also members of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission.

There is a change at the top of the Charles Town HBPA. Randy Funkhouser, a West Virginia owner/breeder and a former president of the horsemen's group, defeated incumbent Ken Lowe and will again serve as president.

The positions of first vice president and second vice president have not yet been filled. Maria Catagnani remains executive director.

Owner directors are Randy Funkhouser's son Joe Funkhouser, Elaine Hagy, Larry Miller, James Miller, and Mark Russell. Owner-trainer directors are James Casey, Lee Couchenour, Tim Grams, Tina Mawing, and Jeff Runco.

Owner alternates on the Charles Town HBPA board of directors are Trevor Hewick and Richard Knapp. Owner/trainer alternates are Raimondo DiCola, James Starkey, and George Yetsook.

The Pennsylvania HBPA, which represents horsemen at Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course and Presque Isle Downs & Casino, also has a new president. Trainer Tim Shea defeated incumbent trainer Stephanie Beattie, who no longer is a member of the board of directors.

First vice president is trainer Jose Martinez, who will serve as associate executive director behind executive director Todd Mostoller.

Owner directors on the Pennsylvania HBPA board are Kenneth Bowman, Thomas McClay, Vickie Nightingale, Dr. Richard Reveley, and Dennis Sweigart. Trainer directors are Sandee Beattie Martin, Todd Beattie, Clovis Crane, Murry Rojas, and Flint Stites.