Jockeys' Guild Elects New Senate Members

The Jockeys' Guild announced that 27 Guild members have been elected to its senate.

The Jockeys' Guild announced Jan. 3 that 27 Guild members have been elected to the organization's senate. New senate members include Alex Birzer, Abel Castellano Jr., James Graham, Brian Hernandez Jr., and Sheldon Russell.

Among other responsibilities, the senate determines the levels of dues and assessments and selects the chairman of the board and other corporate officers. Senate members are elected for a two-year term and will be inducted at the Guild's annual meeting to be held Jan. 28-29 in Hollywood, Fla.

"The Guild sincerely appreciates the work and dedication of the previous senate members and looks forward to working with the newly elected senate to further the goals of the Guild," said Terry Meyocks, national manager of the Jockeys' Guild. "It is essential for the participation of all our members to continue to work with all other industry participants to improve the sport of horse racing. At the same time the industry must do their part to support and enhance the necessary benefits for active, retired, and permanently disabled jockeys."

The 27 senate members are elected by fellow members of the Guild, with nine from each of three regions.

Eastern senate members include: Joe Bravo, Abel Castellano Jr., Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, Stewart Elliott, Mike Luzzi, Sheldon Russell, Edgar Prado, and John Velazquez.

Central senate members include: Robby Albarado, Alex Birzer, Jesse Campbell, Joel Campbell, Jon Court, James Graham, Brian Hernandez Jr., Glen Murphy, and Rodney Prescott.

Western senate members include: David Flores, Garrett Gomez, Casey Lambert, Mike Smith, Joe Talamo, G.R. Carter, Jay Conklin, Cody Jensen, and Freddie Martinez.