Wise Dan is one of the candidates for Horse of the Year.<br><a target="blank" href="http://photos.bloodhorse.com/BreedersCup/2012-Breeders-Cup/Mile/26128708_Rzcb63#!i=2194068419&k=t8cRH2T">Order This Photo</a>

Wise Dan is one of the candidates for Horse of the Year.
Order This Photo

Anne M. Eberhardt

Eclipse Finalists Named

Fort Larned, I'll Have Another, and Wise Dan are candidates for Horse of the Year.

Finalists for the 2012 Eclipse Awards were announced Jan 5 by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form, and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters. Fort Larned , I'll Have Another , and Wise Dan are the candidates for Horse of the Year.

Winners in all 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and the Breeders' Cup, on the evening of Jan. 19 at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Of the 272 eligible voters representing the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the NTWAB, 254 individuals (93.38%) took part in this year's voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters' top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point system. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.  
The 2012 Eclipse Awards finalists, in alphabetical order, are: 
2-Year-Old Male: Shanghai Bobby , Uncaptured , Violence 
3-Year-Old Male: Bodemeister , I'll Have Another, Union Rags 
3-Year-Old Filly: Believe You Can, My Miss Aurelia, Questing
Older Male: Fort Larned, Little Mike, Wise Dan
Female Sprinter: Contested, Groupie Doll, Mizdirection
Male Turf Horse: Little Mike, Point of Entry , Wise Dan
Female Turf Horse: Marketing Mix, Tapitsfly, Zagora
Horse of the Year: Fort Larned, I'll Have Another, Wise Dan
Owner: Godolphin Racing, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Reddam Racing
Breeder: Adena Springs, Darley, Brereton C. Jones
Trainer: Bob Baffert, Todd Pletcher, Dale Romans
Jockey: Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez
Apprentice Jockey: Jose Montano, Irad Ortiz Jr., Angel Suarez  
The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse. They are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of champion in their respective divisions. These awards are voted on by members of the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the NTWAB. Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.
The awards ceremony will be televised live on HRTV Jan. 19 from 8 to 10:30 p.m. EST (5 to 7:30 p.m. PST). Live coverage will also be available via Racetrack Television Network (RTN) and DRF.com