Irish Mission is one of the Sovereign Award finalists for 3-year-old female.

Irish Mission is one of the Sovereign Award finalists for 3-year-old female.

Michael Burns

Sovereign Award Finalists Announced

The Jockey Club of Canada will host its annual Sovereign Awards ceremony at Woodbine.

The Jockey Club of Canada will host its 38th annual Sovereign Awards ceremony to honor the Canadian champions of 2012 at Woodbine Racetrack on the eve of the start of its live Thoroughbred race meet, which is still to be determined.

The cocktail-attire celebration will include a champagne reception, a buffet-style gourmet dinner, and tropical entertainment along with the evening's feature event, the presentation of the Sovereign Award trophies to representatives of Canada's Horse of the Year and other racing champions.

Tickets are each $250 plus applicable taxes (tables of 10 are $2,500) and must be reserved in advance by contacting The Jockey Club of Canada at (416) 675-7756 or email:

In an effort to promote equal opportunity in determining the winners of the 17 race award categories, the voting began Jan. 2, allowing for statistics for the entire year to be considered. The finalists and eventual winner were determined using a computerized points system based on each voter's first, second, and third choice in each category.

The 2012 Sovereign Award finalists, listed alphabetically in each category, are:

2-year-old female:
Spring in the Air
Spring Venture

2-year-old male:
Dynamic Sky 
River Seven

3-year-old female:
Dixie Strike
Evelyn's Dancer
Irish Mission

3-year-old male:
Strait of Dover

Older female:
Magic Broomstick
Roxy Gap
Stars to Shine

Older male:
Hunters Bay 
Pender Harbour
Taylor Said

Turf female:
All Star Heart
Irish Mission
Roxy Gap

Turf male:
Forte Dei Marmi
Hunters Bay 
Riding the River

Female sprinter:
Atlantic Hurricane
Magic Broomstick
Roxy Gap

Male sprinter
Bear Tough Tiger
Essence Hit Man
Taylor Said

Misty Mission

The three finalists for Horse of the Year honors will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

Adena Springs
William D. Graham
Sam-Son Farm

Melnyk Racing Stables
NA Thoroughbred Horse Company
John C. Oxley

Reade Baker
Mark Casse
Troy Taylor

Apprentice Jockey:
Skye Chernetz
Jennifer Reid
Scott Williams

Luis Contreras
Eurico Da Silva
Patrick Husbands

Media Award Categories
The judging for the 2012 media categories will be performed by the journalism professors at Humber College's school of media studies and information technology in Toronto. The three finalists in each of the three media categories will be announced in mid-February.