Ryan Book Award Semi-Finalist Announced

The award has annually showcased the best of racing literature.

The semi-finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award have been chosen from a strong group of submissions.

Conceived and launched in 2006 by the late Castleton Lyons owner Dr. Tony Ryan, the award has annually showcased the best of racing literature. Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its founder, who passed away in 2007. Dr. Ryan's son Shane has carried on the contest each spring since.

The winner of the 2012 book award will be announced on April 10 at Castleton Lyons during a cocktail reception. First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. All three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy.

Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award semi-finalists
(alphabetical order):

"Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing"
Author: Patrick Smithwick
Publisher: Chesapeake Publishing

"Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions"
Author: Susan Nusser
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books

"My Year of the Racehorse" 
Author: Kevin Chong
Publisher: Greystone Books

"Racing From Death"
Author: Sasscer Hill
Publisher: Wildside Press

"The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey's Journey Through Addiction and Salvation"       
Author: Rudolph Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez
Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor

"The Kentucky Derby: How the Run for the Roses Became America's Premier"
Sporting Event 
Author: James C. Nicholson
Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky

"When Racing Was Racing - A Century of Horse Racing"
Author: Adam Powley
Publisher: Haynes Publishing