Ryan Book Award Finalists Announced

First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up.

The finalists for the seventh annual Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award consist of an inspirational sequel to a previous finalist; a redemptive biography of a noted jockey; and a chronicle of the pursuit of American racing's ultimate goal.

The winner of the 2012 book award will be announced on April 10 at Castleton Lyons near Lexington.  First prize is $10,000, with $1,000 awarded to each runner-up. In addition, all three finalists will receive a Tipperary Crystal trophy.

Conceived and launched in 2006 by the late Castleton Lyons owner Dr. Tony Ryan, the award has annually showcased the best of racing literature. Originally known as the Castleton Lyons Book Award, the name was changed to honor its late founder. Ryan's son and Castleton Lyons president, Shane Ryan, has continued to present this award annually.

Following are the finalists:

Flying Change: A Year of Racing and Family and Steeplechasing
Author: Patrick Smithwick
Publisher: Chesapeake Book Company

The Garrett Gomez Story: A Jockey's Journey Through Addiction and  
Author: Rudolph Valier Alvarado, with Garrett Keith Gomez
Publisher: Caballo Press of Ann Arbor

Kentucky Derby Dreams: The Making of Thoroughbred Champions
Author: Susan Nusser
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books