Anne M. Eberhardt

21 Horses to be Entered in Kentucky Derby

Final horse in will be Giant Finish, with Fear the Kitten on the also-eligible list.

A full field of 20 and one horse on the also-eligible list is expected to be entered in this year's Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I).

Churchill Downs officials said on the morning of May 1 that the 20 horses reported to be pointing to the race all will be entered, along with one also-eligible horse. Under that scenario, the final horse in the field will be Giant Finish. The horse on the also-eligible list will be Fear the Kitten.

The other horses that will be entered, in alphabetical order, are:

Black Onyx
Charming Kitten
Falling Sky
Fear the Kitten
Frac Daddy 
Giant Finish
Golden Soul
Java's War 
Lines of Battle
Normandy Invasion 
Palace Malice 
Will Take Charge 

The post position draw will take place at 5 p.m. EDT Wednesday. The draw will be televised by NBC Sports and will be posted on immediately.

Scratch time for the May 4 Derby is 9 a.m. May 3.