John Ward

John Ward

Anne M. Eberhardt

Kentucky's Ward New Chairman-Elect of RCI

John Ward will take over in 2014 after Duncan Patterson of Delaware ends his term.

John Ward, executive director of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, was selected chairman-elect of the Association of Racing Commissioners International board of directors, the organization announced May 1.

The RCI held its annual convention in late April in New Orleans, La. It elects new members of the board each year.

Ward will succeed current RCI board chairman Duncan Patterson of the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, who was elected last year for 2013-14. Doug King of the horse racing branch of the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority was once again elected treasurer of RCI.

RCI also elected board members for 2013-14. They are Jeff Colliton, a member of the Washington Horse Racing Commission; Larry Eliason, executive secretary of the South Dakota Commission on Gaming; Hugh Gallagher, executive director of the Delaware Harness Racing Commission; Charles Gardiner, executive director of the Louisiana State Racing Commission; Dan Hartman, executive director of the Colorado Division of Racing Events; Mark Laino, executive director of the Illinois Racing Board; Edward Menton, chairman of the Mobile County Racing Commission; Constantin "Tino" Rieger, executive director of the Oklahoma Horse Racing Commission; Tom Sage, executive director of the Nebraska State Racing Commission; and Dr. Corinne Sweeney, chair of the Pennsylvania Horse Racing Commission.

Patterson appointed commissioner Mark Lamberth of the Arkansas Racing Commission to the board. All elected and appointed board members will serve one-year terms.

The newly elected directors join representatives assigned by the five largest pari-mutuel handle jurisdictions: California, Florida, New Jersey, New York, and Ontario.