NTRA Elects Dado to Board; Safety Code Update

Del Mar's chief of marketing added May 17; alliance standards also get revisions.

Craig Dado, chief marketing officer of Del Mar, has been elected to the National Thoroughbred Racing Association board of directors, it was announced following the organization's second quarter board meeting held in Baltimore, Md. 

Dado, 48, has been with Del Mar since 2001 after having previously worked at Santa Anita Park.   

In other action, the board:
--Approved audited financial results for the fiscal year concluding Jan. 31, 2013, which reflected net revenues of $66,850. The complete NTRA financials and the company's annual report will be released in early June;

--Ratified the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance 2013 code of standards;

--Received a report on federal legislative activities from The Alpine Group, the organization's Washington, D.C.-based lobbying team; and

--Received updates on the National Handicapping Championship, NTRA Advantage group purchasing, sponsorship, and other programs.

The updated NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance code of standards will serve as the basis for future racetrack alliance accreditation, including the re-accreditation of tracks originally accredited by the alliance in 2010 and 2011.

The 2013 code includes a number of revisions recommended by the alliance advisory committee, including the establishment of an injury review committee; starting-gate-removal protocols; recording and storage of racing surface data; regulatory veterinarian protocols and procedures; and post parade/starting gate scratch protocols.

"The Alliance's Code of Standards is more rigorous than ever," Mike Ziegler, executive director of the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance, said in a release. "Alliance-accredited tracks account for approximately 70% of North America's total betting handle, and it is our sincere hope that tracks that have not yet gone through the accreditation process do so without further delay."

The Alliance's 12-member advisory committee includes Michael Amo of Thorofan; Reynolds Bell of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association; Dr. Dionne Benson of the Racing Medication and Testing Consortium; Alan Foreman of the Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association; Craig Fravel of Breeders Cup Limited; Phil Hanrahan of the National HBPA; Jamie Haydon of The Jockey Club; former regulator Frank Lamb of the alliance inspection team; Terry Meyocks of the Jockeys' Guild; Scott Palmer of the American Association of Equine Practitioners; Pablo Suarez of the Thoroughbred Owners of California; and Alex Waldrop of the NTRA.  

Compliance standards cover six broad areas: injury reporting and prevention; creating a safer racing environment; aftercare and transition of retired racehorses; uniform medication, testing and penalties; safety research; and wagering security.

The complete 2013 Code of Standards for the NTRA Safety and Integrity Alliance can be found here.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the NTRA board of directors will be Aug. 8, 2013.