Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Ken and Sarah Ramsey

Reed Palmer Photography/Churchill Downs

Ramseys' Churchill Record Stands at 32 Wins

Shaun Bridgmohan grabs first spring riding title; Maker, Asmussen tie among trainers.

Ken and Sarah Ramsey concluded their fabulous spring meet at Churchill Downs with a single-season record 32 wins June 30, collecting their record-extending 19th leading owners’ title.

This was their ninth spring meet title and first since 2009. Bert, Elaine, and Richard Klein finished second in the owner standings with eight wins during the 38-day stand.

The Ramseys now have set their sights on a third owners title at Saratoga Race Course, which opens July 19.

"You can tell them to look out at Saratoga," Ken Ramsey said. "It's the 150th anniversary and I'm bringing enough horses up there to win the owners' title. I know I'm going to have some competition up there, but I think you might be talking to the leading owner at Saratoga for the 150th anniversary meet."

The Ramseys won the owners title at Saratoga in 2008 and '09, but Mike Repole's Repole Stable took home the trophy the past three seasons.

"Repole's reign is getting ready to come to a screeching halt," Ramsey said with a grin.

Shaun Bridgmohan led all jockeys in wins with 53 for his first spring meet riding title. He finished in a tie with Calvin Borel for the lead at the 2006 fall meet previously. A 34-year-old native of Spanish Town, Jamaica, Bridgmohan is ranked 11th in all-time wins beneath the Twin Spires with 489.

"I tried something new this year," Bridgmohan said. "I let my riding do the talking and I kept my mouth shut. I guess you could say I'm a little superstitious."

Bridgmohan plans to ride at Saratoga. He is to be joined at Saratoga by fellow Churchill Downs riders Rosie Napravnik, Alan Garcia, Joe Rocco Jr., and Robby Albarado.

Napravnik was second in the jockey standings with 45 wins, the highest ranking for a female rider at Churchill Downs. She had more victories than any female rider at a single Churchill meet.

The race for leading trainer came down to the final race of the spring meet. The 4-5 favorite Buzzin At Midnight won for Mike Maker to give him a share of the title with Steve Asmussen with 35 wins each.

It was the record 12th training title at Churchill for Asmussen, who is ranked fourth in all-time wins at the Louisville oval with 480, and his sixth at a spring meet. He previously was tied with D. Wayne Lukas with 11 titles each.

This was the first spring title at Churchill for Maker, who led all trainers at the 2008 fall meet and tied with Asmussen atop the 2011 fall standings.

Racing will return to Churchill Downs with the first September racing meet in the history of Churchill Downs. It will run Sept. 6-29. Racing will be conducted on a Friday-through-Sunday schedule during each of its four weeks.