Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas.

Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas.

Anne M. Eberhardt

Lukas, Richardson Appointed to KHRC

Hall of Fame trainer and physician to serve until July 1, 2016.

Hall of Fame trainer D. Wayne Lukas and physician J. David Richardson have been appointed to the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission by Gov. Steve Beshear. Both terms are scheduled to expire July 1, 2016.

Lukas, who won this year's Preakness Stakes (gr. I) with Calumet Farm's Oxbow , succeeds Michael Pitino, who had resigned from the commission in June after relocating to Florida and whose term expired July 1.

Richardson, a surgeon with the University of Louisville School of Medicine, is chairman of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association's American Graded Stakes Committee and a member of the Breeders' Cup board of directors. He replaces Franklin S. Kling, whose term expired.

Re-appointed to the commission were Louisville, Ky., businessman and horse owner Frank L. Jones, Fort Mitchell, Ky., attorney and horse owner Burr Travis, and Lexington physician Jerry Yon.