Hendrickson, Whitney Donate $10k to NTWAB

Racing philanthropists cite need to support "writers who record racing history."

John Hendrickson and Marylou Whitney donated $10,000 to the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters association during the 54th annual awards dinner at The Derby restaurant in Arcadia, Calif., Oct. 30, citing the vital need to support "the valuable work of the turf writers who record horse racing's history."

Hendrickson, present to accept the Joe Palmer Award for meritorious service to racing on behalf of Whitney and himself, surprised attendees with the generous donation. He was introduced by owner Ken Ramsey, present with his wife Sarah.

Also attending were Hall of Fame jockeys Chris McCarron, Laffit Pincay Jr., and John Velazquez, there to support retired rider Ramon Dominguez as he received the Mr. Fitz award for typifying the spirit of racing. Terry Meyocks, national manager of the Jockeys' Guild, was present, along with western regional manager Darrell Haire.
The NTWAB presented a $3,000 donation to the Permanently Disabled Jockeys' Fund on behalf of the award winners that evening.
Breeders' Cup Classic (gr. I) connections were even represented as Dean and Patti Reeves of Reeves Thoroughbreds attended; they have Mucho Macho Man  in the Nov. 2 headliner at Santa Anita Park.
Bob Fortus was given the Walter Haight award for career excellence in journalism, while Jack Whitaker was presented with the Jim McKay award saluting excellence in broadcasting; Randy Moss accepted in his absence. Eric Mitchell, editorial director of The Blood-Horse, was the winner of the Bill Leggett Breeders' Cup Magazine Writing Award for best story of 2012 for his article on Breeders' Cup Sprint (gr. I) winner Trinniberg .