Victor Carrasco went over the 200-win mark for the year Dec. 13.

Victor Carrasco went over the 200-win mark for the year Dec. 13.

Jim McCue, Maryland Jockey Club

Apprentice Carrasco Continues Winning Ways

21-year-old leads apprentice riders in number of wins and earnings.

Apprentice jockey Victor Carrasco went over the 200-win mark for the year Dec. 13 when the 21-year-old rode two winners at Laurel Park, including number 200 for the year.

Carrasco, who has won 37 races from 156 mounts (23.7%) at the central Maryland track in the last six weeks, visited the winner's circle with Golden Rings ($3) in race four (VIDEO) and Street Surprise ($6.20) in the fifth (VIDEO), finishing the day with 201 winners for 2013.

Friday marked the 11th time in the last 15 racing days that Carrasco has produced a multiple win afternoon at Laurel and he leads the current fall standings with 57 victories.

"I feel great. When I came to the U.S. from Puerto Rico, I was hoping to win 100 races, so to get to 200 is exciting," Carrasco said. "I appreciate all the trainers for trusting me and giving me a chance. I am riding some good horses and am taking advantage of it."

Carrasco, who finished second in the Pimlico spring and Delaware Park standings, tops all North American apprentice riders in both victories and earnings ($3,991,115) and ranks 13th overall in wins and 50th in earnings.

He is one of five apprentice riders vying for the three Eclipse Award finalist spots. The others are Edgard Zayas (183 wins, $3.5 million as an apprentice), Emmanuel Esquivel (138 wins, $3.2 million), Trevor McCarthy (128 wins, $3.4 million), and Manny Franco (120 wins, $3.8 million).

Maryland-based apprentice riders have captured nine of the 42 Eclipse Awards for outstanding apprentice with Chris McCarron (1974), Ronnie Franklin (1978), Alberto Delgado (1982), Allen Stacy (1986), Kent Desormeaux (1987), Mike Luzzi (1989), Mark Johnston (1990), Jeremy Rose (2001), and Ryan Fogelsonger (2002) all being honored. The last dominating apprentice in the state was Rosie Napravnik, who won 279 races during her bug year (2005-2006).