Rebranded wins the Riley Allison Futurity.

Rebranded wins the Riley Allison Futurity.

Coady Photography

Rebranded Strikes in Riley Allison Futurity

Tiznow maiden wins in first start for hot trainer Justin Evans Dec. 22 at Sunland.

Well-regarded maiden Rebranded came through in the clutch to win the $104,800 Riley Allison Futurity as the heavy favorite Dec. 22 at Sunland Park Racetrack and Casino.

The Tiznow  colt shipped in from Aqueduct Racetrack following his recent sale and seemed to like his new home in the Southwest running for leading trainer Justin Evans.

Under Ry Eikleberry, 13-10 choice Rebranded settled into stride comfortably and raced about five lengths off the pace early in the one-mile event for 2-year-olds. Eikleberry guided Rebranded to the outside while racing down the backstretch and advanced with ease.

Coming into the second turn, Rebranded took dead aim on front-running stablemate Alsono and The Tom Squad. He raced on even terms with those two passing the quarter mile marker and then took a narrow advantage in upper stretch. Rebranded prevailed in the stretch duel while drifting out near the sixteenth pole. Despite racing a bit greenly, Rebranded slowly pulled clear to win by two lengths while timed in 1:38.73.

Rebranded collected a $62,880 payday for owner Tony Pennington, who recently acquired the well-bred bay for $150,000. The winner is out of the stakes-winning A.P. Indy mare Bayou Breeze.

The winner previously raced for trainer Todd Pletcher and Newton Anner Stud. He had one second and one third from four maiden special weight races at Saratoga Race Course, Belmont Park, Aqueduct, and Parx Racing earlier this year.

Evans continued his torrid winning ways with his third stakes race of the young meet. He has won 185 Thoroughbred races in 2013 and is in the top 10 nationally among trainers for races won. The winner paid $4.60 to win.

Lawly's Goal made a bold move in mid-stretch under jockey Francisco Giles but settled for second, three parts of a length in front of Alsono. The Tom Squad, Cloud Harbor, and Ima Happy Strike rounded out the order of finish.