Bilinski, Moyer Elected to TRF Board

Veterinarians are newest directors for Thoroughbred retirement, rescue organization.

Veterinarians Jerry Bilinski and William Moyer have been elected to the board of directors of the Thoroughbred Retirement Foundation, the organization announced Feb. 21.
Bilinski, a former chairman of the New York State Racing and Wagering Board, serves as the doctor of veterinary medicine at Equine Medical Center in North Chatham, N.Y., a position he has held since 1990. Bilinski operates nearby Waldorf Farm, which stands Pollard's Vision  and Bustin Stones .
In 2012, Bilinksi became chair of the Saratoga Institute of Gaming and Law program, sponsored by Albany Law School. He previously served as special advisor to the New York State Senate Majority on Racing and Gambling Matters, from 1997-2008. A graduate of Cornell University, Bilinski is a member of the school's board of trustees.
Moyer is a professor and special assistant to the dean in the Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences at Texas A&M University. He recently served as the president of the American Association of Equine Practitioners, a position he has held since 2010.
From 1990-93, Moyer co-chaired the Veterinary Committee of the TRF's Greener Pastures Division in Maryland, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and Virginia. A University of Pennsylvania graduate, he brings 40 years of experience in an academic setting, complemented by extensive consulting to racing organizations all over the world in the areas of biomechanical evaluation of racehorses, racehorse injuries, racetrack surfaces, hoof disease, and horse shoe design.
"Bilinski and Moyer bring to the TRF vast knowledge of the racing industry and the cause of Thoroughbred aftercare," TRF president and CEO John C. Moore said. "Their contemporary skills and depth and breadth of experience with equine care will ensure the TRF remains ahead of the curve in providing the very best for its herd. They will carry on a long tradition of board leadership that has positioned the TRF as a steadfast champion for retired Thoroughbreds. We are pleased to welcome them."