Steve Asmussen

Steve Asmussen

Mallory Haigh

Asmussen Hall of Fame Nomination Tabled

Trainer was one of 10 finalists for induction into the national museum this summer.

The National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame announced March 21 that the nomination of Steve Asmussen for possible induction into the shrine this year has been tabled as a result of developments over the last two days.

Regulators in New York and Kentucky are looking into an undercover investigation of Asmussen's barn by People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals. The investigation that included allegations of "abuse and mistreatment" of horses was first reported in the New York Times and has subsequently been the subject of widespread publicity in many media outlets. (See related story)

"Based on pending investigations by the New York State Gaming Commission and the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission into allegations made by People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals and reported by various media outlets, the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame has decided it is in the best interests of the institution and the sport of Thoroughbred racing in general to table the 2014 Hall of Fame nomination of trainer Steve Asmussen," the organization said in a one-sentence release.

In an additional note to voters, the Hall said, "Any votes already cast in support of Mr. Asmussen will not be counted in the 2014 election process. The Hall of Fame will still elect the top four vote-getters among the remaining nine candidates placed before the voters."

Asmussen and Curlin , the two-time Horse of the Year he sent out to win nine group/graded stakes wins in the years he won those titles, were among the finalists on the National Museum of Racing's 2014 Hall of Fame ballot.

With the removal of Asmussen from the ballot, one trainer, four jockeys and four Thoroughbreds are the finalists on this year's ballot, as selected by the Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. The candidates are: trainer Gary Jones; jockeys Chris Antley, Garrett Gomez, Craig Perret, and Alex Solis; Thoroughbreds Ashado, Curlin, Kona Gold, and Xtra Heat.

The results of the voting on contemporary candidates will be announced April 25. The induction ceremony will be held at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion in Saratoga Springs Aug. 8 at 10:30 a.m. The ceremony is free and open to the public.