23 Elected to Serve as Breeders' Cup Members

The election of six Breeders' Cup directors will open July 9.

The Breeders' Cup Ltd. announced June 9 the 23 individuals that have won election to serve as Breeders' Cup Members, based on voting by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators that ended June 6.

The election results are expected to be ratified by the current Breeders' Cup Members at the annual meeting on July 15.

Online voting began June 2 with 35 candidates on the ballot.

Elected to fill 20 Member seats with four-year terms each were Antony R. Beck, Craig Bernick, Carter Carnegie, Bill Casner, Hernan Ceriani Cernadas, Case Clay, William S. Farish Jr., Bobby Flay. H.  Greg Goodman, Fred W. Hertrich III, Roy Jackson, Bret Jones, Michael T. Levy, Tom Ludt, Anthony Manganaro, Garrett O'Rourke, Dan Pride, Tom Ryan, Bradley Weisbord, David S. Willmot

Receiving the next most votes of the Breeders' Cup nominators and will fill three Members seats with two-year terms each were Thomas Gaines, Dale Romans, and William J. Shively

The 11 Members who re-elected were Beck, Casner, Clay, Farish, Flay, Jackson, Jones, Levy, Ludt, O'Rourke, and Willmot.

"We congratulate our new and returning Members to the Breeders' Cup and look forward to their service and expertise in contributing to the growth and stature of our organization," said Breeders' Cup chairman Bill Farish in a statement.

The Breeders' Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders' Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders' Cup Members.

The election of six Breeders' Cup directors will open July 9 and will conclude at the July 15 annual meeting of Members. The Breeders' Cup board, comprised of 13 elected individuals and the president, oversees the activities of the organization.