Handicapper Named to NTRA Board of Directors

Judy Wagner one of four new board members unanimously elected Aug. 8.

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association Aug. 8 announced four new appointees to the organization's board of directors unanimously elected at the morning's quarterly board meeting in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. 

The four new appointees to the board are: Judy Wagner, the 2001 National Handicapping Championship winner and 13-time NHC qualifier; Michael Rogers, president of the racing division of The Stronach Group; Scott Wells, president of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations and president and general manager of Remington Park and Lone Star Park for Global Gaming Solutions; and Joe Morris, representing the Thoroughbred Owners of California.

"The addition of these new board members will undoubtedly strengthen the NTRA," said organization president Alex Waldrop. "These appointments will provide direct representation to major constituencies that not only support NTRA programs but which also have a vested interest in a strong and vibrant Thoroughbred industry. In particular, Judy Wagner's appointment recognizes the important role horseplayers have in our industry, not just as fans or spectators like many other sports, but as participants that fuel every aspect of our game with their wagering dollars."

Wagner's appointment is believed to mark the first time a horseplayer has been named to the board of a broad-based national Thoroughbred organization. Thousands of horseplayers participate in NTRA programs.

A New Orleans resident, Wagner is a member of the Louisiana State Racing Commission and a former horse owner. In addition to being one of the NHC's all-time appearance leaders and the only female to win an Eclipse Award as Handicapper of the Year, she has been a member of the NHC Tour since its inception. She finished second in the 2009 Tour behind her husband, Bryan Wagner.