California Chrome's Kentucky Derby win<br><a target="blank" href="">Order This Photo</a>

California Chrome's Kentucky Derby win
Order This Photo

Skip Dickstein

Derby Win by 'Chrome' Moment of the Year

Popular 3-year-old's victory garnered almost one-third of online voting.

California Chrome 's victory in the Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands (gr. I) was voted the 2014 National Thoroughbred Racing Association Moment of the Year.

The results of the poll were announced Jan. 16 at the third ThoroFan awards breakfast at Gulfstream Park in Florida.

Moment of the Year balloting was conducted at the NTRA web site,, and offered voters 10 different images illustrating a range of human emotions as well as outstanding displays of equine athleticism. Wise Dan's triumphant return from colic surgery to win the Bernard Baruch Stakes (gr. IIT) at Saratoga Race Course was the second choice.

The Kentucky Derby earned 30.5% of the vote, and the Bernard Baruch 20.07%, according to NTRA officials. In third with 17.49% was Tom Durkin's call of the final race of his announcing career at Saratoga.

"California Chrome's win in the Kentucky Derby was the signature effort by one of the most popular racehorses of this decade," said Keith Chamblin, NTRA senior vice president of marketing. "This year was arguably the deepest pool of moments we've ever had but in the end the fans reminded us that nothing trumps an awesome performance by a legendary horse."