Qualify will face males in the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby (Ire-I) June 27 at the Curragh.<br><a target="blank" href="http://photos.bloodhorse.com/BreedersCup/2014-Breeders-Cup/Works/i-8LVpr5N">Order This Photo</a>

Qualify will face males in the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby (Ire-I) June 27 at the Curragh.
Order This Photo

Anne M. Eberhardt

Qualify Will Take On Males in Irish Derby

Field includes Investec Epsom Derby (Eng-I) runner-up Jack Hobbs.

After nailing down a classic victory in the Investec Epsom Oaks (Eng-I), the filly Qualify will return to Ireland to face males in the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby (Ire-I) June 27 at the Curragh.

Mrs. C.C. Regalado-Gonzalez's Qualify edged Legatissimo by a nose in the 1 1/2-mile Epsom Oaks June 5. On Saturday, the daughter of Fastnet Rock is expected to face seven other rivals including Investec Epsom Derby (Eng-I) runner-up Jack Hobbs in the 1 1/2-mile race for 3-year-olds.

Trainer Aidan O'Brien decided to supplement Qualify to the Irish Derby as she will try to become the first filly to win the classic since Balanchine in 1994. O'Brien, who is seeking his 12th victory in the race, also has entered Prix du Jockey Club (Fr-I) runner-up Highland Reel as well as Giovanni Canaletto and Kilimanjaro, the respective fourth- and sixth-place finishers in the Epsom Derby.

Jockey Ryan Moore, who won nine races at the Royal Ascot meet, will be looking to win the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby for the first time on Derrick Smith, Susan Magnier, and Michael Tabor's Highland Reel. Last year's Irish Derby-winning rider Joseph O'Brien will ride Smith, Magnier, and Tabor's Giovanni Canaletto. Colm O'Donoghue, who guided Qualify to a 50-1 upset victory in the Epsom Oaks, will be back looking for more classic magic Saturday.

Godolphin and Partners' Jack Hobbs will aim for his first stakes win Saturday as the son of Halling also finished second in the Betfred Dante Stakes (Eng-II) at York. Jack Hobbs will be making his first start since finishing 3 1/2 lengths behind Golden Horn in the English Derby June 6 at Epsom.

Dermot Weld's unbeaten Radanpour will attempt to become a sixth winner in the Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby for his owner His Highness Aga Khan, who first won the race with Shergar in 1981 and most recently with the John Oxx-trained Alamshar. The Weld-trained son of Sea The Stars has won all three of his starts, including a stakes at Leopardstown.

The Curragh will celebrate a huge milestone with the 150th Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby taking center stage with the day celebrating the legendary horses and characters of the Irish Derby. 

Dubai Duty Free Irish Derby (Ire-I)
Curragh, Saturday, June 27, 2015 6:30 local time (1:30 EDT)
No. Horse Trainer Jockey
1.  Carbon Dating John Patrick Shanahan Ronan Whelan
2.  Giovanni Canaletto Aidan O'Brien Joseph O'Brien
3.  Highland Reel Aidan O'Brien Ryan Moore
4.  Jack Hobbs John Gosden William Buick
5.  Kilimanjaro Aidan O'Brien Seamie Heffernan
6.  Radanpour Dermot Weld Pat Smullen
7.  Storm The Stars William Haggas Pat Cosgrove
8.  Qualify Aidan O'Brien Colm O'Donoghue