Arlington to host summer-long handicapping seminars
by BRIS
Date Posted: 5/8/2012 2:14:28 PM
Last Updated: 5/12/2012 3:28:04 PM

Arlington Park continues in its efforts to promote fan education with a series of 16 "Learn to Win" seminars to be held in the track's Park area during the 2012 season that began May 4.

The seminars are hosted by Joe Kristufek and Brian W. Spencer, both of HorsePlayerNOW.com. These informal sessions will take place on selected weekend and holiday dates with the first such seminar schedule for Mother's Day, May 13, from 1 p.m. until 3:30 p.m. (CDT).

Kristufek and Spencer will teach race goers the basics of reading the racing program as well as how to construct wagers that give them the best chance to be successful at the races. In addition, they will answer any questions that fans may have when it comes to handicapping races.

"Fan education is my passion," said Kristufek, who also serves as Arlington Park's official morning-line maker. "Arlington Park recognizes the importance of hands on tutelage and Brian and I very much enjoy providing the 'Learn to Win' experience for all levels of racing fans. Their appreciation is our reward."

The complete schedule of seminars (which will be held weather permitting) is as follows (all times Central):

  • Sunday, May 13: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, May 28: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Friday, June 1: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 2: TBD*
  • Friday, June 8: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 17: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, June 23: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 4: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 7: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, July 14: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Friday, July 20: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
  • Friday, August 10: 4 to 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 18: Million Day Starting Gate Q&A Seminar: 11 am-noon
  • Monday, September 3: 1 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, September 8: TBD*
  • *Held as part of Binny's Taste of the Track event



    Copyright © 2014 The Blood-Horse, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

    SUBSCRIBE to The Blood-Horse magazine TODAY!