HRTV to Air U.S. Stakes, Arc de Triomphe
Photo: File Photo

HRTV will provide coverage of the U.S. stakes extravaganza on tap for Oct. 1, a major day of racing leading up to the Breeders’ Cup World Championships, and the Oct. 2 Qatar Prix de l’ Arc de Triomphe (Fr-I) from Longchamp Racecourse in Paris, France.

At Santa Anita in California, Laffit Pincay III and Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens will handle the Oct. 1 coverage that includes a quartet of grade I, $250,000 tests--the Goodwood, Norfolk Stakes, Yellow Ribbon, and Lady’s Secret Stakes.

On the East Coast, Carolyn Conley and retired jockey Richard Migliore will be at Belmont Park in New York for the annual “Preview Day,” which boasts five grade I stakes--Joe Hirsch Turf Classic, Jockey Club Gold Cup, Flower Bowl, Beldame, and Vosburgh.

Other coverage by HRTV Oct. 1 includes the $500,0000 Indiana Derby (gr. II) and five other stakes races from Hoosier Park and the Maryland Million Day from Laurel Park in Maryland.

HRTV’s Arc coverage Oct. 2 will begin at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT, with estimated post time for the Arc slated for 10:15 a.m. ET/7:15 a.m. PT. The Arc, the richest race in Europe, is expected to be headlined by last year’s winner, Workforce, who will attempt to become the first repeat Arc winner since 1978. Also, three-time Breeders’ Cup Mile (gr. IT) winner Goldikova will make her final Breeders’ Cup prep in the Prix de la Foret (Fr-I).

Most Popular Stories