The Jockey Club Elects Five New Members
by Blood-Horse Staff
Date Posted: 8/18/2011 11:59:46 AM
Last Updated: 8/19/2011 7:35:23 AM

Madeline Auerbach, one of 5 new members elected to the Jockey Club.

The Jockey Club Aug. 18 announced the election of five new members: Madeline Auerbach, Nick Eaves, Charles Hayward, Johnny Weatherby, and Marylou Whitney.
Auerbach is a member of the board of directors of Thoroughbred Owners of California. She is a longtime Thoroughbred owner and breeder based in Southern California. Auerbach is also the founder and chairman for the foundation CARMA (California Retirement Management Account) for retired racehorses.
Eaves is the president and chief executive officer of Woodbine Entertainment Group and a director of Woodbine Entertainment Group. He is also a steward of the Jockey Club of Canada and serves on the board of directors of numerous other horse racing organizations.
Hayward is the president and CEO of The New York Racing Association Inc. and is a longtime Thoroughbred owner. He is the former president and CEO of the Daily Racing Form and serves on the board of directors of several Thoroughbred industry organizations.
Weatherby is the chairman of the Weatherbys group of companies. He oversees the Thoroughbred breed registry (Stud Book) in Britain and Ireland and is chairman of the International Stud Book Committee. He is also Her Majesty’s representative and chairman at Ascot Racecourse.
Whitney is a longtime Thoroughbred owner and breeder who has been an active supporter of Thoroughbred programs involving backstretch workers and retired racehorses. She has campaigned numerous stakes winners through the years.

Copyright © 2015 The Blood-Horse, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

SUBSCRIBE to The Blood-Horse magazine TODAY!