HRTV to Air World Cup, Louisiana Derby

For the sixth consecutive year, HRTV will present live coverage of the March 26 Dubai World Cup, featuring the $10 million Dubai World Cup (UAE-I), from Meydan Racecourse in the United Arab Emirates.

The network’s coverage will begin at 9 a.m. ET/6 a.m. PT, with post time for the World Cup, contested at 1 1/4 miles, listed at 1:45 p.m. ET/10:45 a.m. PT. 

HRTV’s Scott Hazelton returns to Dubai for the fourth straight year as part of the World Feed broadcast and will offer network viewers detailed reports and late-breaking information.  This also marks the sixth straight season that HRTV has covered the entire Dubai Racing Carnival, which began in mid-January.

Also on March 26, HRTV will be on-site at Fair Grounds Race Course & Slots for the 98th running of the grade II, $1 million Louisiana Derby  at 1 1/8 miles.

On-site coverage, which includes three other graded stakes, will be provided by HRTV’s trio of Hall of Famer Gary Stevens, Jill Byrne, and Daily Racing Form’s Jay Privman

In addition, a special edition of the network’s “Grandstand” show, which presents in-depth coverage of the day’s feature race, will highlight the Louisiana Derby.  The half-hour show will air at 5:45 p.m. ET.  Estimated post time for the Derby prep is 6:03 p.m. ET.  As a result, HRTV’s “At the Half” show will be pushed back to 6:30 p.m. ET.

Most Popular Stories