HRTV, HRRN Plan Live Belmont Stakes Coverage

HRTV, HRRN Plan Live Belmont Stakes Coverage
Photo: Coglianese Photos

HRTV and the Horse Racing Radio Network both plan on-site coverage of the $1 million Belmont Stakes (gr. I), final leg of racing’s Triple Crown that will be run at Belmont Park on June 5.

HRTV’s coverage begins Friday, June 4, as Laffit Pincay III, Hall of Fame jockey Gary Stevens, Jeff Siegel, and Becky Witzman anchor the weekend coverage. HRTV’s "Pursuit of the Crown, sponsored by Fasig-Tipton," which has chronicled all the Triple Crown happenings since the winter, will kick off HRTV’s presence at Belmont at noon ET/9 a.m. PT June 4 and will continue at 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT on June 5. A Belmont and Triple Crown recap edition of the program will air June 5 at 8:30 p.m. ET/5:30 p.m. PT.

HRTV will show all of Friday’s races live, and provide reports from the track throughout the Belmont Stakes Day card.

HRRN announced that for the second consecutive year it will provide the exclusive terrestrial radio broadcast of the Belmont Stakes.

HRRN’s live coverage from 5-7 p.m. ET on June 5 will be carried on multiple HRRN affiliates throughout the country as well as broadcast around the world on the American Forces Network.

In addition to the Belmont Stakes, HRRN will host a two-hour "Belmont Preview" show on June 5 from 2-4 p.m. ET that will include live coverage of several major stakes on the Belmont undercard.

HRRN’s talk show "The Equine Forum" will be hosted live from Belmont Park on June 5 from 8-10 a.m. ET. The program can be heard on WLXO 96.1 FM in Lexington as well as online at www.horseracingradio.net. Mike Penna will anchor the HRRN coverage along with Jude Feld and Sean Clancy. Adam Frenier and John Edwards will produce.

Most Popular Stories