Arlington's Arnold New President of TRA
Date Posted: 2/6/2009 2:08:44 PM
Last Updated: 2/7/2009 10:41:58 AM

from the Thoroughbred Racing Associations

Arlington Park president Roy Arnold was elected the 34th president of the Thoroughbred Racing Associations at its annual board of directors' meeting Feb. 5 in Las Vegas, Nev. Arnold, who succeeded Sam Houston Race Park president Robert Bork at the conclusion of his two-year term, has served on the TRA board for the past two years.

The TRA board elected Chris McErlean and re-elected Randy Sampson as TRA vice presidents. Also re-elected were Sherwood Chillingworth as secretary, Bill Fasy as treasurer, and Chris Scherf as executive vice president.

McErlean is vice president of racing for Penn National Gaming Inc.; Sampson president and chief executive officer of Canterbury Park; Chillingworth executive vice president of Oak Tree Racing Association; and Fasy chief operating officer at Delaware Park and Ocean Downs. Scherf has served as executive vice president since 1988.

The TRA is a non-profit trade organization formed in 1942 to serve as a unified and unifying voice for Thoroughbred racetrack owners and operators. The TRA has 47 member associations that conduct racing at 43 tracks in the United States and Canada.

Copyright © 2015 The Blood-Horse, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

SUBSCRIBE to The Blood-Horse magazine TODAY!