Thirteen Pass Entry Box for Preakness
by Evan Hammonds
Date Posted: 5/14/2008 2:16:44 PM
Last Updated: 5/14/2008 10:11:58 PM

Kentucky Derby (gr. I) winner Big Brown tops the 13 horses entered in the Preakness (gr. I).
Order This Photo

Photo: Jeffrey Snyder

Headlined by Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands winner Big Brown, 13 3-year-olds passed the entry box Wednesday for Saturday’s $1-million Preakness Stakes (gr. I). The second leg of the Triple Crown will be run at approximately 6:17 p.m. May 17 at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore.

Post positions for the Preakness will be drawn later this afternoon during a made-for-TV event at the ESPN Zone in the Inner Harbor. The program airs live from 5-6 p.m on a special edition of “Sports Center at the Preakness Draw” on ESPN2.

In alphabetical order, here are the entries:


Behindatthebar/Todd Pletcher/David Flores/ Padua Stables, Michael Shustek, and Don Stanley

Big Brown/Rick Dutrow/Kent Desormeaux/IEAH Stables and Paul Pompa Jr.

Gayego/Paulo Lobo/Mike Smith/Cubanacan Stables

Giant Moon/Rick Shosberg/Ramon Dominguez/Albert Fried Jr.

Hey Byrn/Eddie Plesa/Chuck Lopez/Beatrice Oxenberg

Icabad Crane/Graham Motion/Jeremy Rose/Earle Mack

Kentucky Bear/Reade Baker/Jamie Theriot/Bear Stables

Macho Again/Dallas Stewart/Julien Leparoux/West Point Thoroughbred

Racecar Rhapsody/Kenny McPeek/Robby Albarado/Jerry Carroll, Stan Kaplan, Ronald Plattner, and Mark Guilfoyle

Riley Tucker/Bill Mott/Edgar Prado/Zayat Stables

Stevil/Nick Zito/John Velazquez/Robert LaPenta

Tres Borrachos/Beau Greely/Tyler Baze/Beau Greely, John Greely IV, and Phil Houchens

Yankee Bravo/Patrick Gallagher/Alex Solis/Richard Duggan, Bienstock and Winner Stables, and Harlequin Ranches

Copyright © 2015 The Blood-Horse, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

SUBSCRIBE to The Blood-Horse magazine TODAY!