Purses Boosted for Canadian International, Other Woodbine Stakes
by Blood-Horse Staff
Date Posted: 2/18/2005 12:04:25 PM

Woodbine Entertainment Group announced Friday that the purse for this year's Pattison Canadian International (Can-I) has been increased to a record CAN$2 million in 2005, up significantly from the $1.5-million purse offered last year.

The substantial hike is one of several highlights on the lucrative 2005 Thoroughbred stakes schedule for the Woodbine meeting that begins April 16.

The 1 1/2-mile Pattison Canadian International, which will be contested for the 68th consecutive time on Sunday, Oct. 23, is the richest of the 101 stakes that will be contested during the 167-day meet.

Among other stakes receiving purses boosts are the E. P. Taylor (Can-I), which is worth $1 million in 2005, up from the $750,000 in 2004, and the Nearctic Stakes (Can-IIT), which had its purse doubled from $250,000 to $500,000.

Including the increases in those two stakes on the International card, stakes purses were raised $1 million for the Oct. 23 card, the richest day of Thoroughbred racing in Canada in 2005.

"We were thrilled with the quality of horses we attracted for our 'international' day of races last year," said Chris Evans, Woodbine Entertainment's vice president of Thoroughbred racing. "We hope to continue that trend in 2005 by adding $500,000 to the Pattison Canadian International purse and $250,000 to the E.P. Taylor purse. By doubling the Nearctic offer to $500,000, we hope to establish the race as the continent's most important turf sprint event. Other notable changes in 2005 include an increase of five percent in all allowance races including maiden special weight. In claiming races, the less than a mile (short) and mile and over (long) purses are being blended into one purse. For example, $20,000 claimers which went for $28,500 short and $31,400 long will now go for $29,300 at all distances."

In order to help to defray some of the expenses incurred when starting a horse, there will be a $400 starting fee paid to the owner for each horse in each race that finishes out of the money (sixth or lower).

The entire 2005 Woodbine stakes schedule, which is subject to Ontario Racing Commission approval, follows.

2005 Stakes Schedule (Any monies Canadian)

April
$125,000 JACQUES CARTIER STAKES - Saturday, April 16
$125,000 WHIMSICAL STAKES - Sunday, April 17
$125,000 WOODSTOCK STAKES - Saturday, April 23
$125,000 STAR SHOOT STAKES - Sunday, April 24
$150,000 VIGIL STAKES - Saturday, April 30(Can-III)

May
$150,000 QUEENSTON STAKES - Saturday, May 7
$150,000 FURY STAKES - Sunday, May 8
$125,000 NEW PROVIDENCE STAKES - Saturday, May 14
$150,000 GEORGE C. HENDRIE STAKES - Sunday, May 15 (Can-III)
$150,000 MARINE STAKES - Saturday, May 21 (Can-III)
$250,000 SELENE STAKES - Sunday, May 22 (Can-III)
$150,000 ECLIPSE STAKES - Monday, May 23 (Can-III)
$125,000 LADY ANGELA STAKES - Saturday, May 28
$150,000 CONNAUGHT CUP STAKES - Sunday, May 29 (Can-III, Turf)

June
$300,000 NASSAU STAKES - Saturday, June 4 (Can-II, Turf)
$150,000 PLATE TRIAL STAKES - Sunday, June 5
$125,000 BALLADE STAKES - Wednesday, June 8
$125,000 STEADY GROWTH STAKES - Saturday, June 11
$500,000 LABATT WOODBINE OAKS STAKES - Sunday, June 12
$125,000 VICTORIA PARK STAKES - Sunday, June 12
$125,000 BOLD RUCKUS STAKES - Wednesday, June 15 (Turf)
$125,000 ONTARIO MATRON STAKES - Sunday, June 18
$125,000 VICTORIA STAKES - Saturday, June 19
$100,000 HILL 'N' DALE FARMS STAKES - Saturday, June 25
$1,000,000 QUEEN'S PLATE STAKES - Sunday, June 26
$200,000 SCOTTS HIGHLANDER STAKES - Sunday, June 26 (Can-III, Turf)

July
$150,000 ACHIEVEMENT STAKES - Friday, July 1
$200,000 DOMINION DAY STAKES - Friday, July 1(Can-III)
$125,000 MY DEAR STAKES - Saturday, July 2
$300,000 KING EDWARD BREEDERS' CUP - Sunday, July 3 (Can-II, Turf)
$250,000 LABATT BISON CITY STAKES (FORT ERIE) - Monday, July 4
$150,000 CLARENDON STAKES - Saturday, July 9
$125,000 BOLD VENTURE STAKES - Saturday, July 9
$150,000 ONTARIO DAMSEL STAKES - Sunday, July 10 (Turf)
$150,000 TORONTO CUP STAKES - Saturday, July 16 (Turf)
$300,000 DANCE SMARTLY STAKES - Saturday, July 16 (Can-III, Turf)

$150,000 SHADY WELL STAKES - Sunday, July 17
$500,000 PRINCE OF WALES STAKES (FORT ERIE) - Sunday, July 17
$125,000 DEPUTY MINISTER STAKES - Wednesday, July 20
$125,000 COLIN STAKES - Saturday, July 23
$300,000 CHINESE CULTURAL CENTRE STAKES - Sunday, July 24 (Gr. 2,
Turf)
$125,000 PASSING MOOD STAKES - Wednesday, July 27 (Turf)
$150,000 SEAGRAM CUP STAKES - Saturday, July 30 (Gr.3)
$250,000 WONDER WHERE STAKES - Sunday, July 31(Turf)

August
$150,000 ROYAL NORTH STAKES - Monday, August 1 (Can-III, Turf)
$125,000 NANDI STAKES - Saturday, August 6
$500,000 BREEDERS' STAKES - Sunday, August 7 (Turf)
$125,000 SHEPPERTON STAKES - Sunday, August 7
$150,000 DUCHESS STAKES - Saturday, August 13(Can-III)
$150,000 VANDAL STAKES - Sunday, August 14
$125,000 ONTARIO DEBUTANTE STAKES - Saturday, August 20
$125,000 VICTORIANA STAKES - Sunday, August 21(Turf)
$200,000 PLAY THE KING STAKES - Saturday, August 27 (Can-II, Turf)
$125,000 VICE REGENT STAKES - Sunday, August 28 (Turf)
$125,000 ETERNAL SEARCH STAKES - Wednesday, August 31

September
$125,000 ONTARIO COLLEEN STAKES - Saturday, September 3 (Turf)
$125,000 MUSKOKA STAKES - Sunday, September 4
$125,000 SIMCOE STAKES - Sunday, September 4
$125,000 ELGIN STAKES - Sunday, September 4
$125,000 KENORA STAKES - Sunday, September 4
$125,000 ALGOMA STAKES - Sunday, September 4
$125,000 HALTON STAKES - Sunday, September 4 (Turf)
$300,000 NIAGARA BREEDERS' CUP STAKES - Monday, September 5 (Can-II,
Turf)
$150,000 SEAWAY STAKES - Saturday, September 10 (Can-III)
$150,000 NATALMA STAKES -Sunday, September 11 (Can-III, Turf)
$125,000 LA PREVOYANTE STAKES - Saturday, September 17 (Turf)
$250,000 SUMMER STAKES - Sunday, September 18 (Can-II, Turf)
$300,000 CANADIAN STAKES - Sunday, September 18(Can-II, Turf)
$1,000,000 ATTO MILE STAKES - Sunday, September 18 (Can-I, Turf)
$125,000 OVERSKATE STAKES - Wednesday, September 21
$125,000 LA LORGNETTE STAKES - Saturday, September 24
$125,000 SWYNFORD STAKES - Sunday, September 25

October
$250,000 MAZARINE BREEDERS' CUP STAKES - Saturday, October 1 (Can-III)
$300,000 SKY CLASSIC STAKES - Sunday, October 2 (Can-II, Turf)
$125,000 VICTORIAN QUEEN STAKES - Wednesday, October 5
$150,000 CAROTENE STAKES - Saturday, October 8(Turf)
$150,000 ONTARIO DERBY - Sunday, October 9
$250,000 GREY BREEDERS' CUP STAKES - Monday, October 10 (Can-III)
$125,000 CLASSY 'N SMART STAKES - Monday, October 10
$125,000 BULL PAGE STAKES - Saturday, October 15
$150,000 DURHAM CUP STAKES - Saturday, October 15 (Can-III)
$250,000 CUP AND SAUCER STAKES - Sunday, October 16 (Turf)
$250,000 PRINCESS ELIZABETH STAKES - Saturday, October 22
$500,000 NEARCTIC STAKES - Sunday, October 23 (Can-II, Turf)
$1,000,000 E.P. TAYLOR STAKES - Sunday, October 23 (Can-I, Turf)
$2,000,000 PATTISON CANADIAN INTERNATIONAL - Sunday, October 23 (Can-I,
Turf)
$150,000 FANFRELUCHE STAKES - Saturday, October 29
$125,000 BUNTY LAWLESS STAKES - Sunday, October 30 (Turf)

November
$125,000 ONTARIO FASHION STAKES - Saturday, November 5
$250,000 CORONATION FUTURITY - Sunday, November 6
$125,000 SOUTH OCEAN STAKES - Wednesday, November 9
$175,000 MAPLE LEAF STAKES - Saturday, November 12 (Can-III)
$150,000 JAMMED LOVELY STAKES - Sunday, November 13
$150,000 WOODBINE SLOTS CUP - Saturday, November 19 (Can-III)
$125,000 GLORIOUS SONG STAKES - Sunday, November 20
$125,000 FROST KING STAKES - Wednesday, November 23
$125,000 DISPLAY STAKES - Saturday, November 26
$125,000 SIR BARTON STAKES - Sunday, November 27

December
$150,000 BESSARABIAN STAKES - Saturday, December 3 (Can-III)
$150,000 ONTARIO LASSIE STAKES - Sunday, December 4
$125,000 KENNEDY ROAD STAKES - Saturday, December 10
$125,000 KINGARVIE STAKES - Sunday, December 11
$125,000 VALEDICTORY STAKES - Sunday, December 11


Copyright © 2014 The Blood-Horse, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

SUBSCRIBE to The Blood-Horse magazine TODAY!