Jockeys' Guild Names New Senate Members

Jockeys' Guild Names New Senate Members
Photo: Coglianese Photos/Susie Raisher
Jose Ortiz is one of six new members of the Jockeys' Guild Senate

The Jockeys' Guild announced Nov. 30 that 27 members have been elected to the organization's senate, including six new members, Jose Ortiz, Joe Rocco Jr., William Antongeorgi III, Eddie Garcia, Esgar Ramirez, and Ricky Ramirez.

Among other responsibilities, the senate determines the level of dues and assessments and selects board members, including chairman of the board. Senate members are elected for a two-year term and will be formally inducted at the guild's annual meeting to be held in Las Vegas Dec. 12-13.

"The guild sincerely appreciates the work and support of the previous senate members, and looks forward to working with the newly elected members to further the goals of the guild," said Terry Meyocks, national manager of the Jockeys' Guild. "The guild provides the voice for the riders and it is essential that we have a dedicated group of jockeys who are actively involved."

Guild Senate members:
Eastern  Central  Western
Joe Bravo Robby Albarado William Antongeorgi III
Javier Castellano Alex Birzer G. R. Carter
Julien Leparoux  Joel Campbell Eddie Garcia
Mike Luzzi Jon Court Cody Jensen
Irad Ortiz, Jr. James Graham Leslie Mawing
Jose L. Ortiz Brian Hernandez, Jr. Esgar Ramirez
Edgar Prado Glen Murphy Ricky Ramirez
Sheldon Russell Rodney Prescott Mike Smith
John Velazquez Joe Rocco, Jr. Joe Talamo
The 27 Senate members are elected by fellow members of the Guild, with nine from each of the three regions.

Most Popular Stories