Meyocks, Krantz Appointed to Equibase Management Committee

Terry Meyocks and Bryan G. Krantz have been appointed by the Thoroughbred Racing Associations of North America (TRA) to serve on the management committee of Equibase Company, it was announced today by Equibase chairman Alan Marzelli.

Meyocks, president and chief operating officer of the New York Racing Association, fills the position vacated by committee member Kenny Noe, who retired at the end of last year. Krantz, president and general manager of the Fair Grounds in New Orleans, replaces Stella Thayer of Tampa Bay Downs, whom he recently succeeded as president of the TRA.

Marzelli said another new committee member would be added in the near future to fill the seat vacated by the retirement of Jockey Club representative Allan R. Dragone.

"It is hard to adequately thank Kenny Noe and Allan Dragone for all they've done on behalf of Equibase through the years," Marzelli said. "Allan has been there from the beginning, providing leadership and serving as a guiding light on a number of Jockey Club initiatives, including Equibase."

After serving as a racing official at numerous tracks throughout the country, Meyocks joined NYRA as the vice president of racing in 1993. He was named vice president of operations in September 1995 and then president and chief operating officer in December 1996. He is a member of several racing industry committees as well as a director of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association.

Krantz, a longtime Thoroughbred owner and breeder, is a member of the board of directors of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association and the Louisiana Thoroughbred Breeders Association and serves as a vice president of the Thoroughbred Racing Protective Bureau (TRPB).

The Equibase Management Committee is comprised of twelve members, with each of the Company's two general partners appointing six representatives. In addition to Meyocks and Krantz, the other TRA representatives are Craig R. Fravel, Martin Jacobs, Scott A. Mordell, and John C. York II. Besides Marzelli, The Jockey Club representatives are Sherwood C. Chillingworth, Nick Nicholson, Ogden Mills Phipps, and Hans J. Stahl. Chris Scherf, executive vice president of the TRA, serves as the company's secretary.

Most Popular Stories