McCarron Earns Career Victory 7,000 on Spinelessjellyfish

McCarron Earns Career Victory 7,000 on Spinelessjellyfish
Photo: Associated Press / Chris Urso
Chris McCarron, guiding Tiznow to a five length win in the Santa Anita Handicap, earned career win 7,000 Saturday at Hollywood Park.
Hall of Fame jockey Chris McCarron became the seventh jockey to reach the 7,000 win plateau, guiding 3-1 third betting choice Spinelessjellyfish to victory in the $175,000 Khaled Stakes Saturday at Hollywood Park.

After finishing second on his first two mounts of the day, McCarron and Spinelessjellyfish rallied past pacesetter Lesters Boy in the stretch to earn the neck-length victory in McCarron's 33,525th career race.

"This horse is a fighter," McCarron said. "He loves to win photos. I've won a bunch of races on him, and they've all been close calls. He just loves to win. It was great to hit this milestone on a horse like him. You can't pick and choose who you would want to break it on. You just want to go out there and do it."

With the win, Spinelessjellyfish (Skywalker--Silky Sand Sammy, by Desert Wine) successfully defended his win in last year's renewal of the 1 1/16-mile turf race for California-breds while bumping his career earnings over the $500,000 mark. The Jenine Sahadi-trained 5-year-old has now won eight of 17 career races.

"It pleases me even more, though, to break it on a horse trained by one of my stronger clients," McCarron continued. "Jenine (Sahadi) has been great to me the last couple of years, and this horse has been wonderful go me."

McCarron was stalled at 6,999 victories for several days, however, it didn't take him long to notch career victory 7,001. He earned that win aboard Cee's Elegance in the track's next race, the $70,000 Lakeview Thoroughbred Farms Stakes. After finishing last in his next race, McCarron and Romanceishope upset favored Hoovergetthekeys and nine other 3-year-olds in the $250,000 Snow Chief Stakes for victory 7,002.

McCarron, 46, joins fellow 7,000-victory jockeys Laffit Pincay Jr. (who holds the record of 9,123 wins), Bill Shoemaker, Pat Day, Russell Baze, Angel Cordero Jr., and David Gall.

(Charts, Equibase)

Most Popular Stories