Trainer Ken McPeek will receive the Warner L. Jones Jr. "Horseman of the Year" award from the Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners. The award is given to a member of the racing industry who displays the passion and spirit for the sport exhibited by the late Jones, who was Churchill Downs' chairman of the board. McPeek, an Arkansas native, grew up in Lexington. He's won five grade I races so far this year including an upset in the Belmont Stakes with Sarava...The American Graded Stakes Committee has determined the off-the-turf running of the Pebbles Handicap at Belmont Park on Oct. 14 will not have its grade III reinstated for this year...Brian Marschall won $5,000 for being the surviving handicapper in the Belmont Fall Sudden Death contest. Marschall is an executive recruiter for information technology companies. He lives in Fairfield, Conn. Contestants were required to pick one horse to finish first, second, or third each day. On opening day, 6,941 people had registered. A similar contest will be held for the Aqueduct meet that begins Oct. 31. Registrations must be submitted by noon on opening day. Information and registration can be found at
...The Calder Derby (gr. III) will retain its graded status thought it was moved off the turf and onto the main track on Oct. 20 at Calder Race Course. Western Pride, the winner of the race, will be credited with a grade III win.

Most Popular Stories